Birthday Comfort

Photoshop version of the birthday cake. Photo courtesy Joe Marquez

Today is Hotshot’s birthday.

Hotshot is my first, from scratch, grandchild. He arrived at a dark time in my life, when storm clouds were gathering preparing to dump a torrent of pain in my life.

But Hotshot came.

He was early, almost a month before his due date. He was small. But, he was healthy. It gave me comfort to know he was here and safe. He was comforting to hold.

His mom and he came to our house. His presence comforted his grandpa.

All our grandchildren give comfort in different ways and different times.

Hotshot gave comfort in the dark time. He continues to comfort me, because every year when  I remember that dark time my heart breaks a little. But, also every year, he turns a year older. It is such fun to watch him grow.

Many people thought his birthdays would be a bittersweet time for me. They are not.

Sure, the pain of the dark time returns. Did it ever really leave?

But his birthday doesn’t bring the pain or the memories of the darkness. His birthday brings happiness and joy and memories of fun times. He and his birthday shine the light on my life, banishing the dark times to the far corners.

God has graced our family with six grandchildren. Each with their own abilities and skills. Each bring joy from a different perspective.

 

Linking up with Lisa-Jo and the great group that participates in Five Minute Friday. The main rule is to write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking – on the topic that Lisa-Jo posts about each week.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Comfort

  1. Pingback: Reading Break for Quilters | Nita Beshear – A Patchwork Life

  2. Deena

    Minecraft, quilting, legos…My son was 17 last Sunday. I started late and he could have been my grandchild. (I was 37 when he was born). Your Hotshot sound a lot like my son. The darkness did not clear when he was born, but he has been that comfort through the dark time along with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
    I know what you mean about the date and remembering the hard time it was, but yet each year there are more memories of joy to help heal the hurt. For this I am truly thankful.
    Shalom ~ GISεїз

    Reply
  3. fionacharisbrown

    I love reading about the bond between Grandparents and grandchildren – it re-iterates to me the need to make sure my kids have enough time with their grandparents (we’re a very long way away from them geographically), and to make this a priority for us. Thank you for this reminder. Lovely post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

