D- Designs for Quilts

Quilt designs are varied, from organized chaos (now often referred to as “improv” quilts) to those with intricate designs and everything in between.

This family quilt is a good example of organized chaos. Uniform sized blocks make up the quilt. However, the blocks are compilation of fabric in various sizes and shapes, the quilters used available fabric, to make the blocks, giving it a very scrap look.  Embroidered names, of family and friends, on the fabric swatches give added meaning to the quilt. The quilt, owned by a descendent of one of the quilters, is close to 100 years old.

Neff family quilt

Here is a more planned friendship quilt. The quilters of the Piecemakers Quilt Guild of Eufaula Oklahoma made it a couple of years ago to honor their founding members.

Quilt made by the Piece Makers Quilt Guild of Eufaula Oklahoma.

Quilt made by the Piece Makers Quilt Guild of Eufaula Oklahoma.

Friendship quilts like these were usually designed to honor someone, as the second one. We have no idea why the first quilt was made. It is a beautiful piece of history with our ancestors names on it. Often times women in the community made and designed a friendship quilt to welcome or send off a preacher or teacher.

Here is another scrap quilt, this one designed to use the light and dark fabrics to form stars. It took careful planning, a precise stitching to get the large star which formed the smaller stars. I’m not sure who made this quilt, I took the picture at a quilt show.

Stars upon stars

Stars upon stars

A little less intricate, and still using scraps are these versions of traditional designs.  This first one is the rail fence design, or at least my version of it. It uses all pink fabric since I made it for my granddaughter.

HPIM1311.JPG

 

This second one is the traditional Bow Tie pattern, however the quilter used dimensional center for the bow, a more modern method for completing the design. bow tie quilt drappedSometimes the color makes the design. This quilt of simple squares and rectangles becomes special, with the use of orange, black, white, and Oklahoma State University prints. Made by an Oklahoma State Mom and displayed at the Stillwater Quilt Show in 2012.HPIM0544.JPGThe final design today is a super simple one. It’s pre-printed on the fabric, often called a panel quilt. I only had to add the batting, backing, and binding. Although, I didn’t even add binding. Instead, I used the pillowcase method.

Bear Sheriff Panel qultThese are just a few of the thousands of quilt designs available. Because, really, the design of the quilt isn’t limited. The quilter selects, and often changes, the design of the quilt.

Do you have a favorite quilt design?

Linking up with the A to Z challenge, and the Ultimate Blog Challenge. Both have some great bloggers linking up. Go read some of them, they’re great.

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “D- Designs for Quilts

  1. Cathi

    I’ve never had a real quilt, though I would love to someday. It seems like it would be so much fun to cuddle up in one on a cold morning.

    Reply
  2. Rosanna

    I’m a crafter too and I’ve long wanted to learn how to quilt, but I’m not good with machines, so I embroider instead. What lovely creations, such wonderful quilts! I hope that someday I will be able to make even just one. I didn’t know there are several kinds of quilts, very nice!

    Thanks for visiting my site. I picked up a quotable quote from your site:
    “Our lives are a patchwork of happenings. Each event another patch in our quilt of life.” –Nita

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Embroidery and Embellish for Quilts | Nita Beshear – A Patchwork Life

  4. John Wiswell

    Honestly, my favorite quilt design was a simple yellow, white and red pattern my grand grandmother gave to me. I loved that thing until it completely fell apart.

    And the last design you shared looks so perfect for a children’s gift.

    Reply
  5. InnerGoddessOracle

    I love quilts! I grew up near Amish country and was surrounded my little stores with the most amazing and intricate Amish made quilts. I made little baby blankets for each of my little ones too. Love your post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

