Learning about New Friends

Cruising around the internet it’s fun to meet new people. In the last couple of days I’ve met several thanks to the sewing/quilting challenges and a blog building challenge, also known as the ultimate blog challenge.

For the ultimate blog challenge we are attempting to post every day to our blog for the month of January. Every.single.day. Whew.

Since Mondays are about introducing you to others, quilters, authors, inspirational speakers, I figured why not start with me? Here they are, ten questions I borrowed from another blogger.

1.What was the Happiest Moment of your life –

When I realized my boyfriend, later to become my husband, loved me and I loved him.

David & Nita 1972 cropped

2.What is your earliest memory?

Going to my great grandmother’s house with my mother when I was three or four. The house had hard wood floors and I wore those patent leather with hard soles. I liked the sound of the shoes on the floor. Most of the adults tried to get me to walk quietly, but grandma, from her bed would call out, “Leave that baby alone.” Later I’d go in and climb up in the bed with her. She had cancer and the bones in one leg were practically gone. It had to have hurt when I climbed up on that bed and jostled her until I was settled. She never said anything, just smiled at me and then we’d talk.

Great grandparents

Great grandparents

3. Is there something about me that you’ve always wanted to know but have never asked?

Probably, but I don’t know what it is at the moment.

4. What are the most important lessons you’ve learned in life?

We aren’t promised a tomorrow and there isn’t always an answer. Some things have to be taken on faith.

5. Do you have any regrets?

I try not to. Every mistake or decision I’ve made helped make me who I am and I’m a pretty cool person.

6. When in life have you felt most alone? The morning my husband left. We’d been married 34 years and now God had called him home. All I had left were the memories and our fantastic kids.

7. How would you like to be remembered?

As a caring and loving person. There’s a saying about being the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor in the morning satan groans and says, “crud, she’s up.” I want to be remembered at that woman.

8. What does your future hold?

I have no idea. Fun. Adventure. Learning. Books. Quilts. The future is waiting to be discovered.

9. When did you first fall in love?

I thought I was in love when I was 17. In hindsight I was in love with the idea of being in love. When I met my husband I learned about real love.

10. Can you tell me about your first kiss?

Now why would anyone want to know about my first kiss? I was in high school; I really didn’t have much to do with boys until then.

There you have it, ten things you never you needed to know about me. Anything I left out? What about you? Want to answer that last question and tell about your first kiss?

4 thoughts on “Learning about New Friends

  1. Brandi Barnett

    What a beautiful compilation of answers! I really enjoyed reading this blog post. Several made me tear up. Since my kiddos visited both their grandparents and their great-great grandmother today, the one about your shoes shuffling across the floor and her enjoying your presence despite the pain was especially touching. The heart is an amazing thing.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Lyn, Thanks for stopping by, glad you enjoyed it. Borrow away. That’s what I did, another blogger had done a 20 question blog and I “borrowed” ten of them for my post. I may use the other 10 another day. 🙂

      Nita Beshear author/speaker/quiltmaker

      The Blog: Our Patchwork Lives

      My books: Devoted to Quilting

      Also available for Kindle,and the Nook

      and the anthology,Romance, The Spice of Life

      also on the Nook

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

