Sunday Sewing, Not

I don’t sew on Sundays. Don’t ask why, it doesn’t make sense to me either.  I do other “jobs” on Sunday, laundry, dishes, housecleaning, even yard work.

Ok, I don’t do any of them often on Sundays, but that’s because I try to avoid “work” whenever possible.

But sewing? Why not sew? I understand about it being the Lord’s day, and I think that’s why I don’t. But, really, why do other chores? Why limit it to sewing?

Someone suggested it’s because I sew for pleasure and the other “chores” are necessities. Especially, the way I do them.

I’d buy that, except I can’t even make myself sew on my charity projects, the prayer quilts I make for women I know, or meet, who have buried a husband, or the ones I make for raffling to help the charities of my heart. No matter how helpful the reason for a quilt, sewing on Sundays is a challenge.

When I posted here about posting daily, I had a topic for every day except Sundays. What would I blog about on Sundays? I needed a subject.  I won’t bore you with the thought process. Suffice it to say, I have an idea, now whether or not I can successfully carry it out is another thing. Sundays will be for my monthly project. No, I won’t be sewing on it, blogging about it however, is acceptable in my head.

The  Plan.  For the monthly project posts, I needed a monthly project. Funny how that works. There are plenty of sewing/quilting projects in my house. However, I once again needed a plan. Enter, A Lovely Year of Finishes  hosted by, Melissa of Sew BitterSweet Designs   and Shanna of Fiber of All Sorts.

The idea is to select one project and  commit to finishing that project. Next I need to write a blog post about it, link up with others at BitterSweet and Fiber of all Sorts to share the post. Once the project is complete. I’ll blog again about the finish. Sounds like a workable plan.

The Project. January’s project is the Twist and Turn quilt. I started it in a class a while back. Returned to it last year, hoping to use it as a Christmas gift. That didn’t happen. So, this month, I will finish the top, piece the back, quilt and bind that quilt. Not only will that give me one finish for the year, but one Christmas gift for next year. Yay!

The top of scraps is started:

HPIM1477.JPG

And the backing, using masculine fat quarters.

HPIM1478.JPGWhat challenges are you tackling this year? What’s your plan?

One thought on “Sunday Sewing, Not

Leave a Reply

