Houston Quilt Show and other Thanks

November, turkey, quilts, thanks, they all go well together. My original idea had been to post daily about something I’m thankful to have in my life, or to have experienced. Since it’s already the fifth, and this is the first post of November, that obviously isn’t happening.

I will endeavor to finish out the month posting about people, things, and happenings I’m thankful to have, or to have had, in my life.  First up is the Houston Quilt Festival, since it’s the most recent event I enjoyed.

The three days in Houston were great, as was the trip to and from. One of the most exciting moments of the festival was meeting Alex Anderson and Ricky Tims. Alex even purchased my book, see?

Now, isn’t that a good thing to be thankful for?

The Houston trip provided me much to be thankful for, I traveled with some talented, generous, gifted ladies, had a superb, fun bus driver (Thanks Dana), and saw so many quilts and quilting ideas.

Including the opportunity to see one of Heather Jones‘ quilts. I’d seen it on her blog, but it was so much fun seeing it in person hanging with the other quilts at the show.

Isn’t it cool? She told me it wasn’t an art quilt, although it looks very artsy to me. I guess it’s a modern functional quilt.

Since I didn’t post my thanks for days 1-4, I’ll be adding them as the month progresses. At least, that’s the plan. Tomorrow, I’ll share my list of thirty things I’m thankful to have in my life.

I liked Melissa, the Willamette Valley Wonder Woman’s idea. She listed 30 things to be thankful for, and will post them daily where she can see them to remind her of her blessings. That way, every day she will be reminded of something she’s thankful for, and will start the day in a thankful way.

I will do that as well as expound on the gift here on my blog. In the meantime, what are you thankful to have in your life?

3 thoughts on “Houston Quilt Show and other Thanks

  1. Pingback: Cooking for Thankful Tuesday | Nita Beshear – A Patchwork Life

Leave a Reply

