Never Enough – Always Enough

It’s Friday. Time to link up with Lisa Jo and all the nice folks at The Gypsy Mama for Five Minute Friday. A time to write, unstructured, no editing or rewriting for five minutes on a word. Today’s word? Enough

Start 5:25

Just one more year, month, week, day, hour, minute I begged. Just give us a little more time together. Time to finish our dreams. Time to love. Time to fight.  We hadn’t had enough time I argued.

It wasn’t to be. It was time for him to go home.  There was no more time for us.

Now, I needed strength. Strength to plan his good-bye party. Strength for our little grandsons who didn’t understand why their Bear was gone. Strength for our children who now had only one parent. Strength for myself to get through the day, weeks, months, years ahead without him by my side. I didn’t have enough strength to do it all, to do any of it.

But, God had more than enough love, strength and caring to give me. Sometimes he gave it to me in the form of our grandsons who made me laugh, just by being there, or the additional grandchildren He sent to add cheer to our lives. Sometimes the strength came from my children, who cried for our loss with me, then helped me with chores, who now call, just to talk. Sometimes it came in the form of friends, who called at just the right time, or came over to help with tasks. He even sent me new friends to help. He gave me people in my life to help me celebrate the good times too.

Next week will mark what should have been our anniversary. I keep wondering if I’ll have enough courage, and ability to get through the day. No need to worry. God has it covered. He’ll be there for me, holding me up, getting me through the day, sending people to help.

I may not have enough of anything, but God has enough of everything.

 

There you go. Me, unedited. Well, except for spell-check, my fingers don’t always go to the right keys so I do check for the most obvious typos. 🙂

Why not join us? It’s fun (really, it is) and a great way to meet others. Just click over on Lisa Jo’s site, read some of the other posts, and add yours.

12 thoughts on “Never Enough – Always Enough

    1. Nita Post author

      Thanks for stopping and commenting Eileen. Glad you enjoyed the post and the line. Sometimes God just puts good words at our fingertips. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Maureen

    A very heart-felt post, honestly written. You have grown stronger through this tough time, it is obvious. Love the line, “I may not have enough of anything, but God has enough of everything.” Well said! The Lord’s blessings to you, each day. Thanks for visiting at my blog, too.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Thanks for stopping, and the kind words Maureen. I enjoy finding a visiting new blogs and truly enjoyed yours. Have a blessed week.

      Reply
  2. fireball3316

    wow. this so moved me. my father in law died 7 months ago and he would have just last month celebrated his 40th wedding anniversay to my very lovely mother in law. i have watched her mourn, grow, stretch, live. she inspires me and shows me that no matter what, Jesus is there and He is enough. hugs to you. more than hugs to you. thanks for sharing your heart.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Glad your mother-in-law had almost forty years. We had 34, he left 2 months after our anniversary. I cherish the memory of that last anniversary. Jesus is there, and he keeps us from falling too deep in the pit, he also sends us loved ones, like our children, grandchildren, and friends to be there when we most need them. I’m sure you’re mother-in-law appreciates you and your husband more than you know.

      Reply
  3. Clover

    Oh how I relate, and how difficult it can be. I will be praying for you next week, that God does fill those empty spaces and sends all the right people to smile through the sad. Glad I stumbled over here from Lisa Jo’s. Enjoying reading through your blog and love the prior post about your mom’s quilt.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Clover, Glad you stumbled over from Lisa’s. I love her FMF, although I sometimes don’t play. Thanks you for the prayers, they will help. Hope you come back. 🙂

      Reply
  4. richelle

    this was wonderful – God’s enough always fills in the gaps for our not enoughs.

    i’m so sorry for your loss. even on the days i think i could strangle him myself, i can’t imagine any other or a time when he’s not. i’ve prayed that you’ll sense God’s enough especially next week.

    blessings!

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Thanks for your kind words Richelle. You know, I’ve told people I miss the arguments, and days I wanted to strangle him, and days I made him want to strangle me. 🙂 It’s all a part of life, the ups, the downs, the mixups, and when they’re taken away we are left adrift. Thank you for your prayers. With help and prayers from others God will pull me through this week and every week or day that threatens me.

      Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Laura, Thanks for stopping and adding your support. I appreciate all support. At first I kept telling God I couldn’t do it, He kept telling me I could. Guess I can. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

