Everyone has a Story, or Two

It’s Five Minute Friday at The Gypsy Mama again, and I’m actually playing this week. Thanks Lisa Jo, even while leaving on vacation, she took the time to post the prompt and her story for us.

This week the prompt is “story” and while brainstorming I came up with so many different ideas. This is the one I settled on, and five minutes was not nearly enough time, but those are the rules:

5 minutes

Stream of conscious writing

No editing, no overthinking

 

Start 6:35

When my book came out I heard a lot of, “I didn’t know you quilted.”

Well, no, because these people didn’t know my whole story, they only knew how knowing and interacting with me affected their lives. That’s okay. I didn’t know their whole story either.

We are all like quilts, there is our story from the beginning, our birth and childhood. That’s when a quilt and it’s design is decided on. Some of us have quilts our grand and great grandmother’s made and it’s history has been handed down orally to us, we know it’s story. Our families know about our childhood, they know us from the beginning.

But, most of us have other quilts, those we bought, at a quilt show, estate auction, yard sale, or other quilt sale. We don’t know the beginning story of those quilts, we only know the story from when they came into our lives. It doesn’t change how we feel about the quilt, why we love and treasure it.

Our friends and acquaintances are the same. I may not know everything you’ve gone through, or your story from the beginning, but you add to my life now. I know how you enrich my life and that’s all that matters.

I don’t know the whole story of the family quilt pictured, in part, above. I do know it was made by family members and their friends. I appreciate the work, and the beauty of the quilt, as well as the fact we have something tangible from our ancestors.

Friends and acquaintances are the same. I appreciate those in my life, and those who let me in their lives without knowing my whole story. Yes, I quilt, I write, I’m a mom, I’m a grandma, however those interests fit into your life gives me another friend.

Stop 6:42

Yes, I went a little over the five minutes, but Ihad to finish my thought.

What’s your take on the prompt “story”? Come on over to Lisa Jo’s and play with us. Plus you can read a the great posts of other bloggers.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat on the prompt: “Story” with no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

6 thoughts on “Everyone has a Story, or Two

  1. janets123

    As long as I can remember, my mom had a pair cobalt blue vases, shaped like big bass fiddles. They sat in her kitchen window & caught the light. My sister was a collector of cobalt glass and adored them. Many a visitor remarked on their beauty and wondered at their origin–were they antique? were they bottles or vases? were the necks ever corked? Because they had been given to her by a distant cousin, Mom wanted them to stay in the family when she passed. When she was 94, she gave them to a neice. My sister nearly cried. Well, maybe she did cry but I never saw it. I felt so bad for her great disappointment, I went looking for a blue fiddle vase. I found one just like Mom’s only “better” in that it had a wrought iron holder so it could be hung on the wall. I made up an elaborate story that made it sound like this vase had been Mom’s, how it had been left in an attic for years, then discovered by the new owners of the house and restored to the family. It was a total work of fiction and we all knew it, but I printed it up & framed it & gave it to my sister with her beautiful blue vase. Perhaps it would be okay to make up stories to go with our gorgeous quilts we find at yard sales?

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Janet, I love that story about the family vase. Thanks for sharing it. Yes, of course we can make up a story to go with our quilt if we need to. It’s our quilt, our life, our story. Thanks for a good idea.

      Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Jenni, I remember feeling the same way. Honestly my kids were well beyond toddler stage when I started (again) making quilts. Thanks for stopping, I hope you stick around, you’ve given me a great post idea for making an “interruption-friendly quilt.”

      Reply
  2. Kelly

    Found this through 5 minute Friday. I love old quilts and the stories behind them.

    **Our friends and acquaintances are the same. I may not know everything you’ve gone through, or your story from the beginning, but you add to my life now. I know how you enrich my life and that’s all that matters.**

    I love that quote from your post 🙂

    Kelly

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Kelly, Thank you for stopping. I love Five Minute Fridays, I meet so many interesting people. 🙂 Thank you for taking time to stop here. The stories behind the quilts is what got me back to writing seriously after a huge boulder ran through my life. Who knew I could come up with a cool quote, thanks for pointing it out. I’m working on making Thursdays “story day”, I hope you come back and check out some of the stories.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

