Busy Hands/Idle Hands

I don’t really just have one hand, but it’s a bit difficult to take a picture of both hands and hold the camera with one hand. That takes three hands, of which I don’t have. One of my blogging friends posted a picture of her hands recently and asked her fellow bloggers to post pictures of their hands. When I remember who she is, I’ll come back here and post a link to her blog. In the meantime, here are a couple of pictures of mine torn fingernails and all:

Resting on a blanket.

Trying to hand quilt.

Ecclesiastes 10:18 (KJV)  “By much slothfulness the building decayeth; and through idleness of the hands the house droppeth through.” Sounds a lot like my grandmother’s phrase, “idle hands are the devil’s workshop.” Keeping busy, also keeps unwelcome thoughts at bay. 🙂

Here is my favorite picture of one of my hands.

It’s a wall hanging. A tracing of mine and my husband’s hands embroidered by my sister on the day of his death. It hangs next to my front door and gives me comfort every day.

When I look at it I think of my sis, sitting in our living room, diligently working on the piece while friends came and went offering their assistance and love in our time of pain.

I also think of the day the original tracings were made.

It was hot, Oklahoma hot. We had a mini-family reunion with my uncle and his wife who were visiting from California. We were all gathered in their hotel room telling stories when Keren suddenly pulled out her sketch book and asked us to trace our hands, my uncle, aunt, David and I. She already had the hands of everyone else traced.

Her plan was/is to someday make a quilt using the hand tracings. The quilt hasn’t been made yet, and several of our family has left us, but their hands are still here, in Keren’s book.

She made a copy of David’s tracings for me also. It hangs in a frame over my desk. People ask why I have a piece of paper framed, it’s hard to see the hands, especially from a distance. When I take the picture down and hand it to them they can see the tracings that weren’t visible before.

It doesn’t matter to me, I know the tracing is there, just as I always know God has me in his hands.

Psalm 4:8 (KJV) I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.

Leave a Reply

