A Lesson in Trust

Yes, it’s Saturday, but I’m still posting for Five Minute Friday. I was working on the post in my head when I received a phone call. The call, led to a lesson from God. Enjoy.

Yesterday I helped a friend move. A strange set of circumstances forced them into the change in living space with only a week to pack up everything they owned and take it to the new house. They can take their time unpacking.

I offered early in the process to come help them. I have a lot of practice with packing and moving. My childhood had been spent moving from one location to another. The early years of my marriage were similar, and my most recent move was a mere 5 1/2 years ago. I’m still unpacking and finding a home for things.

The response I got was, “No thanks, we can handle it.”

Ok, I didn’t want to force myself on them, and didn’t want to be in their way. After all they may have had a system.

Until yesterday morning. My friend called, “Can you come help us finish packing up?”

“Sure, do you need my pickup?”

“No. Wait, maybe you’d better bring it. Just in case.”

Oh yeah, they needed the pickup, and the extra hands. When I arrived, a couple of other people had joined in the helping.

It wasn’t until this morning that I realized the lesson God was teaching. He is ALWAYS available to help us, we need to trust in that, in HIM. But, He won’t force Himself on us, we need to ask. The answer is always “yes, I’ll help you.” We need to trust him.

Stop.

You can play along too. All the information is on LisaJo’s blog, The Gypsy Mama.

On Fridays we just write without worrying if it’s just right or not. Won’t you join us? (<—Tweet this!)

      1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

 

      2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

 

      3. Please visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them.

 

2 thoughts on “A Lesson in Trust

  1. Nita Post author

    Thanks for stopping, I’m glad the post made sense. I wrote it, posted it, and left. Later, I wondered if I’d said what I meant to say, but had to “trust” that the readers would figure it out. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Heather Lapierre

    I love the way God shows us things – you are so right- you got me thinking how many times do I say no thanks – I got this? What a great example in this process you to your friend in demonstrating Gods willingness to always be there! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

