Freedom of Speech Threatened?

Romans 8:13-14 – 13 For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. 14 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God.

As many of you know I’m working through Romans 8. I had a very different post planned, however, I’ve learned the US Congress is soon voting on a bill that could censor what we view online. The bill may have been drafted with good intentions, websites and blogs can be blocked. Free speech one of the fundamentals of our constitution can be stilled.

At first I agreed with the petitioners just on general principle, I don’t want any more of my rights eroded away. I thought, my little blog is safe, I don’t write on controversial topics. But, who decides what is controversial? I write about Hope, God, Faith, and Jesus. Could that be considered controversial? If someone in power doesn’t want God’s word spread could my little blog be stopped? What about all the other inspirational bloggers? What about the Bible websites? Could they all be blocked?

On a business level, I write about quilts and quilting. However, I don’t necessarily promote new fabrics or companies selling designer fabrics. I like the designers. I like the fabric they create. I don’t usually buy it, doesn’t mean I don’t buy, it’s just not always my first stop. Will the fabric manufactures stop my little blog because I advocate recycling, up-cycling, reusing fabrics? If I do spotlight one designer, will other manufacturers (who don’t carry that line) want to shut me down for promoting something outside their sales line?

Will our fabric designers websites and blogs be closed because someone doesn’t like the fabric they design? Will writers’ blogs be closed because they write about something “unapproved”?

Tomorrow, in response to this bill many blogs and websites will go black, including this one. Please check out the bill here and make your choice, http://fightforthefuture.org/pipa/

As I said, this started out to be a very different post. However, this is important to me. I hope your freedom to read what you want, where you want (online, in a newspaper, in a book, etc.), when you want is important to you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Freedom of Speech Threatened?

Leave a Reply

