Oklahoma City Winter Quilt Show

Yesterday I spent the day in Oklahoma City at the Winter Quilt Show. Lots of quilts to see, people to meet, and new products to drool over.

When I first arrived I met quilt designer, Victoria Craig. We spent most of the day together visiting booths, and learning from each other. Well, I learned from her, not sure how much she learned from me. Her patterns were being carried by SEW N SEWS, a machine and quilt store in OKC that I will be visiting next time I’m there.

I purchased her pattern, Linus Sampler. She designed and made the quilt for the Linus Foundation. Her quilt is  used as an attention-grabber whenever they have a booth to attract more interest.

I found some interesting fabrics from Studioefabrics at Two Sisters Quilting Booth. I’ll post pictures of the fabric, and maybe (don’t hold your breath) the finished quilt top, later.

Another bonus of attending quilt shows is finding and reuniting with people you only see at shows. I was lucky this year and found Joy of A Joyful Soul Fabrics. Where I purchased an Amy Butler hat pattern. I’d found Joy, and the pattern a couple of years ago, but was unable to make the purchase. Yes, I could’ve gone online and bought it, but I didn’t. Don’t ask why, I have no idea.  Anyway, now I have the pattern, and will be using it. This summer I’ll have a cool hat or two to wear.

Joy is aptly named, she is a real joy to be around and visit. Currently, she and her family live in Texas where her military husband is stationed. Thanks Joy.

That’s all I bought, but found so many other things I put on my ‘wish’ list and other items I just plain enjoyed seeing, and learning about.

In addition to the vendors, there were, of course, quilts. I ran out of room on my camera, so didn’t get pictures of all of them, but here are a few:

Elinor Rahme pieced this Marsha McCloskey “triple feathered star.” Isn’t it pretty in blue and white?

I loved this “No Squirrels Allowed” quilt. I forgot to write down the quilter’s name, if anyone knows who made it, please let me know so I can give proper credit.My photography skills aren’t the best, can you see the three birds on the tree limbs?

I wish there was something next to these ‘flowers’ to give you an idea of how small they are. The entire quilt is just 49″ X 62″. There are 2287 hand pieced hexagons in the quilt. The entire quilt was hand pieced, and hand quilted. I don’t think there was a name on this one, if there was, I forgot to write it. Again, if you know who made this please let me know so I can give proper credit.

On the description page it was called the Bottom of the Basket (BB) quilt because the project kept being shoved to the bottom of the basket as other projects took precedence. The little quilt was nine years in the making.

Also attending the show was Judy Howard with an exhibit of mini quilts to fight childhood hunger.

Leave a Reply

