Five Minute Friday – Roar

It’s the first Friday of the New Year and, thankfully, LisaJo at The Gypsy Mama is continuing with Five Minute Fridays. Today’s word: Roar

ROAR

Our younger grandson recently started roaring. His parents and brothers thought it was cute, which encouraged him to roar more. He’d smile and roar just because he was happy.

He’s not very verbal, so this roaring may have been a way for him to share his happiness. He didn’t roar when he was upset or angry, only when he was happy.

When I visited and he roared for me I couldn’t help but smile too. Not only because he was looking for me to smile or laugh, but because the roar reminded me of his grandpa. My daughter didn’t know why the baby had started to roar. I knew it was because his grandpa taught him to roar.

Either in his sleep, or when he was playing alone, his grandpa would visit and get him to roar. He may have learned it before he was born. His grandpa went to heave long before the child’s birth, maybe while they were both in heaven his grandpa taught him about roaring.

His grandpa went by “Bear” several times in his life. The last, in the months and years before his death. Our first grandson dubbed him “Bear” on their first meeting after they’d spent the afternoon ‘roaring’ at each other.

There you go. Five Minutes of ‘top of the head’ writing. Join us by linking up with The Gypsy Mama, or just pop by and read some of the other ideas. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Roar

  1. kells

    i got your comment on my blog and it spoke to me and it was something I needed to hear …the loneliness roar…it roars loud. and often…telling me that I am all by myself…but it’s untrue. we aren’t alone. we have a friend who sticks closer than a brother…
    thank you for reminding me of that this morning…I don’t want to hear the loneliness roar and believe it any longer. blessings to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

