Quilted Christmas Cards Tutorial

QUILTED CHRISTMAS CARD AND GIFT TAGS

If you want a special unique card, and you’re not crafty with paper and glue, consider making your own quilted Christmas card for friends and family. They’re simple to make, don’t take much time, and will truly be unique.  Here’s my super-simple way to make them.

  1. Start with a novelty Christmas print of your choice. I chose this one, printed in rows, it saved cutting time. Any novelty fabric works.
  • The Fabric

2.  Cut your fabric. Since this one was printed in handy-dandy rows, I simply cut two rows off.

3.  Layer your fabric with batting and a backing fabric. I used an old clean sheet, muslin works well too. Don’t use a fancy, expensive fabric here, it won’t be seen, it’s just to help with the quilting.

You can see the three layers here better.

4.  Quilt the three layers together. For me, it’s easier to quilt several “cards” at once and then cut them apart, rather than cutting them to size and quilting each card separately. Either way works, I’ve done both.

5.  Cut your fabric into card size. I started with two images per card, making a long skinny card but decided I didn’t like that look,  I cut the rest of the strip into three images per ‘card’.

I still didn’t like the proportions, and cut them in half again (more or less) across the candy canes and greenery.  Perfect. Some of them are now the right size, 4 X 6 which can be sent without an envelope and mailed as is.  Some of the cards are now too small to be Christmas cards. No problem, they become the gift tags, which can be any size you want.

5. At this point I added Fray Block © because I can’t seem to keep the little snippets of thread from peeking out, and I don’t like them. It’s a totally optional step. See the little threads?

6.  Now we’re ready to add the backing.  If you have card stock, great, if not, an old file folder  works well to give strength and weight to the card. If using card stock you’ll want to also add a clean sheet of white paper. The choice is yours. The white paper is optional, I like the look of it rather than the vanilla color of the file folder. If using card stock you can omit the extra paper.

7.  Cut the folder (card stock) and paper to size.  I attached the folder backing to the fabric with the Wonder Tape © . You can also use the two-sided fusible that comes in a roll. Place a strip across the center of the card stock and fuse it to the back of the fabric card, following the directions on your product.

You can sew the cardboard backing to the quilted top at this point. If you’re using a good quality card stock I would. However, since I was adding a cleaner paper to write on I waited until I had all the layers together.

I placed the ‘cards’ on a sheet of paper, rather than cutting it to size first, I usually make a mistake when cutting to size. Also, by placing the cards on the paper, I was able to get the best lay out. I zigzagged with a long stitch .around the cards to attach the white paper..Here’s the back of the paper with the ‘cards’ on the other side. Now I just cut them apart so they are easier to turn while satin stitch around the edges with a closer stitch.

8. For your gift tags, insert your ribbon between your fabric and the batting before stitching. A small dab of glue will hold it in place until you’ve done the first, bonding stitching.

9. Cut the cards apart, to make it easier to stitch around each one.  I go around each card two times changing the length and width of my stitches, this helps get better coverage around the card.

TaDa your very own original Quilted Christmas cards.  Add a sentiment on the back, sign, slip in an envelope. If you’re mailing them as Christmas Postcards the post office requires the word Postcard across the top middle of the back. Address, add your sentiment, a stamp, and mail. You’re done.

Additional Notes

  1.  If you choose an all-over print you can use it as is, for an eclectic look, or fussy-cut the design you like best. You can also sew two or three fabrics together to create your own look.
  2. If you’re adding ribbon for a tie, check that you place it at the “top” of your directional fabric. You’ll notice I didn’t, and the tag will be upside down. That’s okay for me, you might want yours to be right.
  3. You can also use a grommet  instead of a ribbon.
  4. Use an older needle, preferably one for heavier fabric, for your final zigzagging. You’ll be going through several layers and paper.
  5. If you use them as postcards remember they can be no smaller than 3 X 5, no larger than 4 X 6, and no thicker than 1/4 inch. You’ll also  want to ask that they be hand canceled.
  6. If you’re using an envelope to mail your cards you can embellish with beads, buttons, bows, lace,  embroidery, anything you like. I’m not an embellish kind of person, but these are your cards, make them reflect you and your family.
  7. Additionally, if you don’t want to do the zigzag, you can sew interfacing around the edge of the card, cut a slit in it and turn it (The Eleanor Burns method of applique).  The slit won’t show, because you’ll be attaching that backing to the card stock of your choice.

Have fun. I hope you enjoy making these cards. They don’t take much time, and are fun for your friends and family to receive. If you make your own fabric cards, I’d love to see them. You can post a link or picture here to share.

Merry Christmas.

6 thoughts on “Quilted Christmas Cards Tutorial

  1. Pingback: 6 Fun Quilted Christmas Cards | Free Quilt Patterns

  2. Nita Post author

    Thank you for your kind words Jackie. I have so much trouble seeing myself as an artist. Your words mean so much. Merry Christmas to you and your family (including Miss Peggy). 🙂 Quilted Blessings, Nita

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Sharing Saturdays « Nita Beshear – Patchwork Living

  4. Pingback: Card Crafts–The Quilted Swap « ecollage

Leave a Reply

