Eating, Quilting, Writing

Eating and writing, eating and quilting. They all seem to go together perfectly, two halves of a nut, at least for most quilters and writers.

Writers, enjoy good food. Many larger groups provide refreshments at their meetings, especially if they have a speaker. The food allows for more informal visiting as we stand around and nibble on the goodies. My writing group is small, and doesn’t offer refreshments, however many of the group will meet before hand at a local Taco Bob’s  to eat, and visit before the meeting. Bob is our local culinary literary supporter. He offers us space for book signings, and offers our books for sale at his counter. A perfect place to enjoy a bite to eat and visit for writers.

Quilters are no strangers to good food either. Most quilt meetings will include time for refreshments. Any time I hear about a quilting bee, food is included in the telling. Generally, those long-ago gatherings included soups, stews, or beans, something that could be kept warm on the stove, something that didn’t have to be fussed with. After all these women were there to quilt, the hostess didn’t want to be fiddling in the kitchen, she wanted to be with her friends, visiting and quilting. Of course, if the quilters brought food for the meal it had to be something that traveled well, and could be served with minimum of fuss. Probably they brought the bread or desserts for the day.

When today’s quilters gather, whether to sew or just visit, they have little interest in spending their visiting time cooking. At most meetings, refreshments include something to drink (no mess, no fuss) and sweets (food that sits quietly on the sidelines until time to be consumed. 

Quilt retreats and camps require more substantial food. Meals at these events are provided by the sponsor, the quilters will take turns preparing meals, or they (the quilters) will bring food to be refrigerated until needed when it will be reheated and served.  

Most quilters, and many writers are good cooks. I don’t fall into that category. I can cook (as is evidenced by my need to exercise and diet), however, I don’t enjoy cooking, and prefer to NOT cook. Which means I don’t have a favorite kitchen appliance or tool. Unlike fellow writer, Anna Campbell who waxed beautifully about her new teapot on her blog, Tote Bags ‘n’ Blogs 

What about you, do you enjoy cooking? Do you have a favorite kitchen appliance or tool?

2 thoughts on “Eating, Quilting, Writing

  1. Kelly

    Hey Nita!
    I love to cook. I’m learning much healthier ways to enjoy one of my many passions. I also love to bake. Favorite kitchen appliance would probably be my KitchenAid mixer. Even my 3 yr old granddaughter knows how it goes together. She’s in the kitchen with me every chance she gets.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Kelly, I love people like you, that way I get to eat good food at different functions, and I don't have to worry with the cooking. Love that you're teaching your granddaughter to cook, she will probably grow up to be a great cook like her grandma. I think one reason I don't enjoy cooking is that I was never allowed in the kitchen. When my childen were growing up I cooked, but with them all moved out and away, I have little interest in cooking. A good mixer is a good appliance for you, glad you have a good one. Thanks for stopping by.

      Nita Beshear author/speaker/quiltmaker The Blog: Our Patchwork Lives

      My book: Devoted to Quilting Also available for Kindle,and the Nook

      Reply

Leave a Reply

