Five Minute Friday – Friend

After being away for a couple of weeks, I’m back to play with the bloggers at The Gypsy Mama. Which means I join the hundreds of other bloggers who write for  five minutes flat on Fridays.

As she says on her blog, “We write because we want to, not because we have to. We write for fun, for joy, for discovery.We just write without worrying if it’s just write or not.”

This week’s subject – Friend

Go :

Yesterday was my baby sister’s birthday. We didn’t celebrate it together, we seldom do. However, we did talk, and facebook each other. She headed to Texas to spend the weekend with her daughter. Next week she and I will get together, stretching her birthday month a couple of days. She’s more than my sister though, she’s my friend. She wasn’t always. We didn’t grow up together, too many years between us.

We are as different as different can be, but we value our differences. When in pain, we know we can call each other. My favorite call from her however was when she was not in pain. She had been, it had been a rough month for her. Her self-esteem took a blow, her normal high confidence level was barely operating, until the day of the call. She called to tell  me she was happy. I don’t remember why, just that she was and she wanted to share it with me, because she knew I’d been worried about her.

 The call she will probably never forget was when I told her my husband was getting worse. The day he died she dropped everything and drove 2 hours to be with me.

 There’s more, but my time is up. My sister, my friend. What could be better?

There are plenty more five minute musings on “friend’ linked on The Gypsy Mama blog. If you have time, they’d appreciate some readers, and commenters.

The Five Minute Friday rules are simple:

        1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
      2. Link back here and invite others to join in
      .3. Visit the blogger before you and leave a comment.

Today’s Tip: It’s still September, National Sewing Month, so of course there’s one more tip:

       When clipping threads on a quilt, nail clippers will do a good job, and help eliminate cutting the quilt (something I’ve done more than once.) They’re also handy for travel sewing. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Friend

  1. kells

    Ummmmmmmm….I so all over the place with this post. At one point i am glad you are your sister are so close but then that ending about only two hours with the man you love. how tragic. truly that’s an interesting blog post…hec, love story.
    Thank you for sharing. and aren’t sisters the best?!

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Oh Kelly, sorry for the misunderstanding. Guess I should have really checked this before posting. My husband and I were together 35 years (married 34). My sister lived two hours away and dropped everything to come be with me and the kids. Yes, sisters are great. It makes me sad my daughter doesn’t have one. Thanks for reading.

      Nita Beshear author/speaker/quiltmaker The Blog: Our Patchwork Lives

      My book: Devoted to Quilting Also available for Kindle,and the Nook

      Reply

Leave a Reply

