Quilt Basting Tutorials

It was either an end of summer cold, or first of fall cold, either way, I was sick. I HATE being sick.  Not only was I sick, but it was contagious. Once I was feeling better and ready to play on the computer, it was sick. Lightening apparently accompanied the wonderful rain we’d so badly needed. Funny, I didn’t notice it, still, it knocked my internet connection out. 

Once the computer and I were both feeling better, I went blog surfing. The first helpful blog I found was Vickie’s at, Sew Inspired. She has great tutorial for pin basting a quilt. This is the first method I learned, although it would’ve been easier to have seen her instructions first. 🙂  The only problem with this method is that it works best on the floor. I’m 5’9, the floor is a l-o-n-g ways down, and an even longer ways back up. Still, it’s a good method and one worth trying if you’ve never basted a quilt before.

The next blog I found sent me to Sharon Schamber’s quilt basting videos. I’m anxious to try her method. I’ll still need to find a space long enough, however the dinning room table will work if I add a couple of extensions. Sharon’s helpful instructional videos come in two parts, part one, and part 2: Another blogger put me onto Sharon and her unique method, I wish I could remember who it was.  Sharon’s method looks like I can do it easily, without getting down on the floor. It definitely looks like something I can do and am anxious to try it.

There were a couple of other blogs of interest, and encouragement. I’ll share them tomorrow.

According to the calendar, despite my cold, it’s still September, which means it’s still National Sewing Month. So, Today’s Tip is:

Change your sewing machine needle after eight hours of sewing, or when you begin a new project. It will help you avoid skipped stitches or weak seams. Keep your used needles in a special place to use when sewing on paper.

 

Leave a Reply

