In The Eye of the Beholder

“Beauty is in the eye of the holder.” How many times have we heard that, or repeated it to our daughters? It is true, but does saying it tell our daughters they aren’t pretty except to those who love them?

Years ago, when families gathered to watch the Miss America Pagent, my father made the comment that I was fat. At the time I was 5’9 and had the same measurements as many of the pagent girls. When I told my father that, thinking that would make me, if not pretty, at least not fat.

No. His response, “They’re fat too.”

What? These girls were probably borderline anorexics, and he was calling them fat? Did their parents call them fat too? Did the directors of the pagent say they had to weigh a certain amount or they were fat? Probably.

Years later, after marriage and children, my family was watching the Miss America Pagent. My son commented, “They need to take those girls home and put some meat on their bones.”

He thought they were too skinny.  Two different opinions. Who do we listen to? We need to listen to God, who tells us we are perfect the weigh we are. Sure, some of us may need to drop a few (or more) pounds, but we aren’t our weight. Our size is just one part of who we are.

Yet, we often let our size define us. We are beautiful. We need to accept our beauty in whatever package it’s wrapped.

Stop.

This was my take on ‘beauty’ the Five Minute Challenge, issued by The Gypsy Mama. She spent this last week looking for beauty  and helping her readers find it. I took a slightly different take, and that’s what makes this challenge fun. Everyone has a different viewpoint and we all learn from sharing. To read what others said about beauty, stop by The Gypsy Mama and check out some of the beauty links.

What about you? Where do you look for beauty? Where do you find it? What’s beautiful to you? Feel free to share.

3 thoughts on “In The Eye of the Beholder

  1. Fenny

    thanks for the reminder that beauty lies in the eyes of the Beholder. And that I should look at myself and my weight through Gods eyes, not my own.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog. Reminding myself that God’s opinion about my looks is the only important opinion is something I struggle with daily. Glad you enjoyed the post.

      Nita Beshear author/speaker/quiltmaker The Blog: Our Patchwork Lives

      My book: Devoted to Quilting Also available for Kindle,and the Nook

      Reply

Leave a Reply

