Whole – Five Minute Friday

Whole

It seems to me our lives are not cut from one piece of whole cloth with no seams  or frayed edges. To me quilts, and life are similar.

Our lives are made up of patches. Growing up is a patch, or two or more. Some of us have many parts to our growing patch, our parents, siblings and extended families.  Others, from smaller families have fewer pieces of fabric in their growing up patch.

There is the patch for school, the patch (or patches) for dating, getting married, having children, raising children. Every part of our life is a patch making up the whole.

Stop

Ok, had more to say but the timer went off, so will follow the rules and stop. You can read more Five minute Friday over at Gypsy Mama

Just to remind you, Five Minute Friday is about writing for five minutes, just five minutes with out criticizing the words or story. Five minutes of writing without editing. I must admit I have trouble with that, I want to edit, I tend to edit as I write, I do go back and fix typos as I’m typing. Not after the five minutes, but during them.

She even makes it easier for us. She gives us a word to write about. As you can see, today’s word is ‘whole’. If you’re a writer, try writing for five minutes about the word ‘whole’. You can write what is whole, or should be whole, what can be whole. If you write fiction, write from your main character’s point of view. Whatever you do, I hope you have fun and don’t forget to check out Gypsy Mama’s site, there are a ‘whole’ lot of bloggers posting for five minute Friday, and we’re all linked up there.

If you join in Five Minute Friday, why not leave a link here too? Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Whole – Five Minute Friday

  1. beingmade

    What a good word for a quilter!!! Maybe sometime you’ll flesh out the rest of your thoughts here, but I love what you have so far. I love the idea of a place for quilts and quilt stories. We have some in our family that are priceless to us because of the love poured in.

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Thanks for stopping by and for the idea for future blog posts. While I have written on this theme in my book, I have so much more to say. Just ask anyone who knows me, I’m a chatterbox. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

