Procrastinator or Perfectionist?

Is a procrastinator a closet perfectionist?

According to the date on my last post, it’s been awhile since I’ve been here. My apologies, I honestly didn’t think it had been that long. The problem isn’t that I don’t have anything to say. Ok, maybe I don’t, but that doesn’t usually stop, or even slow me down. 

The problem, I’ve discovered, is perfectionism. This brilliant insight occurred two days ago, as I was driving to McAlester (about a 45 minute drive) to visit a group of hand quilters. More on that visit later. However, while driving the thought crossed my mind that often what’s seen as procrastination is really fear of not being perfect.

Now family and friends who know me in real life will swear I don’t know the meaning of perfectionism. While I was busy walking, maybe running, away from being a perfectionist, I didn’t notice that I was actually entering the back door of perfectionism. Oh ick. How did that happen?

How it happened isn’t so important as the fact it did, and what that little gem did to me. It made me a procrastinator. Yep, procrastinators are really perfectionists.

See? The two words use almost all the same letters, p,r,o,c,s,t,k,n,t,s. The left-over letters, r, a,o,r,e,e spell, “are ore” as in, “perfectionist, procrastinators are rare ore.” Ok, not exactly proper English, but you get the idea.

See, we don’t procrastinate to make life difficult for ourselves, or others. We procrastinate because we want to be perfect, and we’re rare ores.

Since I define an ore as a gem, we are rare gems. Yep, it sounds better to be a rare gem than just somebody with another flaw

Still, I will make an effort to tamp down the perfectionist tendencies to be more timely with posts here. We can only hope.

How about you? Are you a perfectionist procrastinator, or have you learned the art of being a perfectionist without the procrastination? If so, would you share the secret?

3 thoughts on “Procrastinator or Perfectionist?

  1. Pingback: Monday’s Mental Muscles | Beating Procrastination | Kim Koning

  2. Pingback: Monday’s Mental Muscles | Beating Procrastination « Dragonfly Scrolls

  3. Pingback: Monster Attacks Writer, News At Eleven. | Practice Makes Better

Leave a Reply

