Changing Plans

How often do your plans change? If you’re a wife, mother, sister, woman, chances are they change often, sometimes on the hour. Sometimes we have no control over the altering of our plans, other times we ourselves do the changing.

Recently while working on a special quilt a friend asked if I’d make her a baby quilt for her brand new great grand-daughter. Sure, why not? After all, I was waiting on some fabric for the first quilt. My choice, take a break from the special quilt and make a baby quilt. Both quilts were finished, and both recipients were pleased, which made me happy. The change of plans benefitted everyone.

Another change in my quilting plans happened the other day when I received word a friend’s husband had passed away. She needed a “quilt of comfort,” the only one I had available was a bright yellow and pink kaleidoscope quilt. It didn’t seem to fit her personality or need. A quick run to the fabric store, and an even quicker quilt design chosen. The comfort quilt will be finished today, and delivered tomorrow. I’m sure she will appreciate it when she receives it, for me it helps to make something tangible, lasting, and useful for my friend. It was a change worth making. 

Currently, I’m working on a quilt for my daughter-in-love’s Relay for Life team. They will be offering chances on it at the event next month. I’d started the quilt, and we had a plan for it, until she and I visited the other day and we changed the back ground fabric. No problem, it’s an easy change. It is a change in plans, and the quilt will be much prettier.

Then there was a second baby quilt I’m making for my friend, for another great grand baby. I had one design in mind. After talking to her the other day, I’ve changed it. Another change in plans, to an easier quilt, and something the mother will love even more. 

Each time my quilt plans change, they seem to change for the better. A better quilt, an easier quilt, or a more meaningful quilt emerges.

I’ve noticed that when my life plans change the same thing happens. My life improves in some ways. Of course, there are a couple of my life changes I still have an issue with, but for the most part, changes have been for the better.

Have the changes in your life, your work, your everyday activities benefitted  you or someone you love? Want to share?

6 thoughts on “Changing Plans

    1. Nita Post author

      Thanks Sharon. As you know, that’s pretty much my philosophy, quilts and life are woven together. Thanks for stopping by.

      Nita Beshear

      “…her long slender fingers bounced from seam to seam as she traced the pattern…’…this is how he walks…all over the place.'” From Following her Heart in DEVOTED TO QUILTING Devoted to Quilting Also available for Kindle, and the Nook

      The Blog

      The Website

      Available to speak with your writers, quilters, or women’s groups

      Reply
  1. Nita Post author

    Amy, is change the rule for life? Maybe that’s why I seldom make firm, carved in stone type plans, they’re going to change anyway.

    Carol, you are a perfect example of “If you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans.” Guess we always need to be ready for whatever change of plans comes our way.

    Thanks to both of you for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed the post.

    Reply
  2. amyshojai

    Changing plans–oh yes, that’s the name of the game of life, I think. And every time my plans have changed it’s brought challenges, often teeth-gnashing angst, but usually also has been a great blessing in disguise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

