Quilting on the Go

Last month I went on a virtual book tour. It was the first time I’d done such a thing, and it was the first for my hosts.  I hope it was as good an experience for them as it was for me. For the next couple of days I’m going to share some of my experience with you. Vacation notes, more or less, since I didn’t leave my house there are no pictures. Sorry.

I’m not sure how other authors select the blogs they will visit on their tours, I wanted my tour to have an underlying link or two, and I wanted to meet new people. The underlying links were blogs that had something to do with quilting, and blogs that were based in places I probably won’t visit in real life. Which is how I came up with quilting blogs in Florida, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. I’d hoped to do one in Hawaii, but it didn’t work out. 

The first stop was Florida where Stacy calls home, and has her blog, S.E.W. Butterfly. Stacy’s is real crafter, she sews, crochets, knits, quilts. What I enjoyed about Stacy, in addition to her being a mom and a quilter is her treasure hunting ability.

She doesn’t hunt for silver or gold, wait in a way she does. When she saves money that’s the same as finding money right? Often she finds items she can repurpose for her children, saving money and adding to their wardrobes. Not a bad deal.

Stacy goes treasure hunting in thrift stores, where she often finds some fabulous things. Sometimes her things have to be reworked a little to be of use, but often she finds hidden treasures that need no assistance. She even dedicates one day a week to her treasure hunts, she calls them Junk Love Wednesday.

On those days she posts pictures of some of her finds and sometimes she includes the adventure of the hunt. Meeting up with Stacy was a real  treasure for me.

Back when I was a kid we still had dumps where people could scavage. My dad often went dump digging for salvageable lumber, or anything he could repurpose. Today, of course dumps are smelly, stinky places and most of the garbage is buried soon after arrival. If there is anything worth salvaging, it doesn’t stay that way long.

Visiting with Stacy has awakened my treasure hunting gene. I think I will start going to the area thrift stores on a regular basis, just to look-see what they have. I may be like Stacy and come away with some spectacular finds. Or, I may just have a good a time looking.

In the meantime go check out Stacy’s blog and see what treasures she may  have for you this week. Thanks for the visit Stacy.

My sewing list progress:

12 Stockings -check -done ready to be stuffed and mailed.

8 quilts – 1 top done

and that’s as far as I’ve gotten so far. Hopefully next post will have more progress.

Leave a Reply

