STOLEN, A Book Review

Today is the first day in my “author/book” promotion addition to my blog. As I mentioned the other day, it just seems right to share authors and books with my readers since I am after all an author and a quilter.

I’m starting with the book, Stolen, by Vivian Zabel. You can read Vivian’s bio on some of the other blogs hosting her book. A list of them is at the end of this post.This post is to tell you a little about the book . Also at the end of the post look for information about a contest Vivian is having along with this book tour and promotion. And now, the book.

I admit it, I like endings. Many of my friends are aghast that I read the ending of a book first. It is a habit I started a long time ago when I was reading formula books. If I didn’t like the ending, I didn’t want to read about the journey to get there.

I’m not as bad as I used to be, but still, I like to read the endings first. Which is what I did with STOLEN. I won’t tell you the ending, or what about it made me want to read about the journey. Let’s just say I read the whole book.

I will however give you a small glimpse into the book, a book that would certainly qualify for the Oprah Book Club if she were still doing that.

It’s a story of pain and triumph. A story of lost and found love. It’s of family,bound both by blood and by love.  Main character Torri has an okay life. It isn’t the best, and she knows there’s problems in her marriage but she’s willing to stay and try to make them work. If for no other reason than her two children need their family.

That is until her world comes crashing down and she’s forced to admit the problems are more than she can work out alone, and her husband has no intention of trying to make things work.

Luckily for Torri she has a family in Oklahoma ready and willing to help her pick up the pieces of her life. Just when it looks like life will be ok after all, wham, she’s hit again. This time with the abduction of her children.

The heart-wrenching  story is about how Torri and her family once again pick up the remaining pieces  and continue on with those two vital parts of their lives removed.  Vivian writes eloquently of the pain each step forward causes, but she doesn’t deny the joy that is still to be found.

 Vivian did her research, both academic and real life as she and her family lived through this horrendous experience. She was able to take the pain, and knowledge and weave a griping tale. Her research shows both in the true feel of the story and in the statistics she adds at the back of the book about abducted children.

As I mentioned earlier, this is a book that would most certainly fit on Oprah’s bookshelf if she were still doing the book of the month club, I don’t think she is. It’s certainly worth a spot on the bookshelves of anyone with children in their lives.

More information about the book can be found at the Stolen website, or the publisher’s, 4RV Publishing site. 

Don’t forget to check out her previous stops:

Wednesday, December 1 she was in Arkansas with Velda Brotherton:

Thursday, December 2 The Old Silly’s Free Spirit Blog hosted her.

Friday, December 3 she was with Amy Shojai in Texas at Amy’s blog.   

Today, December 4,  she is both here, and with Holly Jahangiri.  

For the rest of our tour check out these blogs:

Dec.5 – Caroline Clemmons

Dec. 6 – Karen Coiffi-Ventrice

Dec. 7 – JR Turner

Dec. 8 – Diane G. Sagan

Dec. 9 – Debra Eckerling

Dec, 10 – Margaret (Peggy) Fieland

In addition, Vivian is offering the host with the most comments a complimentary ARC of the book as well as an ARC, or ARC pdf if you’re out of the United States, to someone not hosting the blog tour who promotes the book. When you promote the book please come back here and leave a comment about it, or tell Vivian at her website so she knows who to include in the drawing. Plus, she is offering an ARC to two people who give her another possible ending for the book. ARC means, advanced reader copy.

Please, leave comments here and on the other blogs and help promote this touching, informative books.

Once again, I’ll see you next time. Enjoy.

26 thoughts on “STOLEN, A Book Review

  1. Nita Post author

    Beverly, I don’t always read the end now, just usually. Sometimes it’s fun knowing the ending and wondering just how the character is going to get there in some areas of the book. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you get a chance to read the book. Please let Vivian and I know what you think of it when you do. Vivian, knowing the ending didn’t tell me how the book was going to get there, it just told me it was a book I’d probably enjoy reading. ~Nita

    Reply
  2. Beverly

    A wonderful review. And I can’t believe some of you read the ending first. Sometimes I’m tempted, but I like to imagine how a story ends and then see if I’m correct, so I start at the beginning and read through.

    I’m looking forward to reading Stolen. Thanks again for the nice review.

    Reply
  3. Barbara Ehrentreu

    I’m one of those people who never looks at the ending. In fact, most of the time when I start a new novel and even while I’m I’m in the middle of it I don’t know the ending. I like to keep endings a surprise in everything. I guess it’s the little girl in me that loves surprises. In this case, Vivian, the ending I hope is a good one. But in either case, the book sounds great! Your blog tour is a lot of fun and I’m trying to make all the stops.:)

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Barbara, Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I understand your feeling and think you will enjoy the ending when you get a chance to read the book. Congratulations on making an effort to make all the stops. ~Nita

      Reply
      1. Nita Post author

        Thanks for stopping by Morgan. I hope you enjoyed your visit. Vivian, thanks for answeering her question so well. The only thing I could think of was, people would have to read it to see how it ends, and that just didn’t sound nice. I like your answer much better. ~Nita

    1. Nita Post author

      Nancy, Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. The book is very interesting and the major problem Torri faces, having her children taken from her, is one most of us can’t even imagine. I know I’m thankful I never had to endure something like that. Vivian has done a fantastic job of weaving a good story around life-altering facts. ~ Nita

      Reply
  4. Jacque Graham

    Great stop on the blog tour for Stolen. I have read the book and it is such a picture of how true life can be with on problem after another. Torri has what it takes to face her problems and move on with her life finding joys among her challenges. A must read!

    Reply
  5. Holly Jahangiri

    Nita! You and I have something in common, this business of reading the end of a book first. Like you, I read for the journey. If I read the first two pages and the last page, and want to know how the author gets from A to Z, I’ll happily read the whole book whether I know the ending or not.

    On the other hand, if it’s too predictable or leaves me thinking, “I don’t CARE how they got there,” I don’t. And yes, I’ve read Stolen – twice.

    I agree with what you’ve said here. And I think most of us, if we’ve lived long enough, have been hit by one of life’s one-two punches. Just when you think it can’t get any worse… Stolen reminds readers of that essential truth: What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. We all have reserves we don’t think we have, and how Torri finds and draws on hers is the reason for reading what’s between the front and back covers. Though the story has its wrenching twists and turns, it’s very much a character-driven novel. I enjoyed it, even though it made me deeply sad to think of the tears Vivian Zabel has shed over its creation through the many years of its gestation.

    Reply
    1. Vivian Zabel

      Holly, you were with me for a major portion of the Stolen trip, and much as the book tormented me, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      I also read the end of some books first — to see if I’ve already read it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

