Beautiful Day

Quilters often take their cue from the universe. There are a multitude of star patterns, patterns named after animals (bear paw, turkey tracks, flying geese, etc.), and designs named after plants, and of course, the weather.  Our great, great,grandmothers enjoyed each day celebrated many of those days with quilts.

Take time to enjoy and appreciate the day. However you spend it.

Psalms 118:24

This [is] the day [which] the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

King James Bible

Today is a beautiful day. I hope you’re able to enjoy it. Below is a picture of a beautiful,  from a distance, day.

winter

At the time I don’t think I saw the beauty in the day since that is my ice-covered, snow-packed driveway. A snow packed drive way that lead to an ice covered road. I stayed at the house and didn’t venture out. Today, the scene looks pretty.  Back then, I’m fairly certain I didn’t fully appreciate the beauty of it.

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Day

  1. Pingback: STOLEN, A Book Review « Devoted to Quilting

  2. Hilary

    Brrrr… I’m not looking forward to that weather. I’m quite enjoying this hot summer.. but I’m learning to enjoy and appreciate the winter days as well. Nicely done.

    Reply
  3. Frank

    Lovely pic, Nita. I’m glad you found appreciation for the day, if only in retrospect.

    Would you consider doing a commissioned quilt? I’d be interested in one that featured various animals and birds. Would such a pattern exist?

    Hope you and yours are well. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

