Challenging Fabric

crazy quilt

Can fabric be an enemy? Can it be a friend? Margaret Thatcher said, “It pays to know the enemy – not least because at sometime you may have the opportunity to turn him into a friend”.

Now I’m pretty sure Margaret Thatcher was talking about people, and she’s probably right, but the same idea holds true for fabric, or patterns. Do we have fabric and/or pattern enemies? Can we turn them into friends?

My main fabric enemies are silks and satins, the smooth shiny, slippery fabrics. Sewing with them is a nightmare. Luckily for me they aren’t generally considered quilt fabrics. Although they can be used for a quilt. The crazy quilt shown above was backed with a silk type fabric.

Edna, the woman who made the quilt told me it had been a nightmare sewing it on, it kept slipping. But, knowing her enemy, she found a way to hold it in place and managed to back her quilt. Later, she had to add more quilting to keep the slippery fabric from shifting and preventing the quilt from looking it’s best. She’s happy with the result, and generally uses the quilt as a wall hanging. Because, she knows her enemy, and the satin backing would allow the quilt to continually slid off a bed. Although she did admit, she probably wouldn’t select that fabric for a backing again. Still, she did make a friend of the fabric and as a result has a beautiful quilt.

Knowing your enemy fabric, or pattern will help you work with it to create a beautiful quilt, or in my case, stay far away so it can’t get the better of me. What’s your choice, to work with your enemy or give it lots of space?

4 thoughts on “Challenging Fabric

  1. mary-Frances Main

    Thanks so much for the comment on my blog! I have read “Look me in the Eye” and it’s a great book! I’m sure we’ll have as much fun as challenges learning about my son and his unique mind!

    LOVE the crazy quilt and oddly I LOVE slippery and fuzzy (I’m more of a crazy quilter) and my challenge is cottons and lining them up and measuring! ha ha!! So, it depends on you what the challenge is right?

    Again, hope to see you on my blog again!

    Reply
    1. Nita Post author

      Mary Frances, Oh, I’ll be back to your blog. One of these days I’m going to add a list of the blogs I visit and enjoy. Until then, I’ve at least figured out how to bookmark them so I can find them again. Like you, I’m more of a scrap/crazy quilt person, and my cottons seldom line up. I just tell people I made them with uneven seams on purpose. 🙂 Thanks for taking time to visit my blog.

      Reply
  2. Hilary

    Well it sure looks like you’ve made fast friends with this fabric. Beautiful quilt!

    So nice to see you drop by my blog recently, Nita. It’s been such a long time and you were one of my first visitors ever. Thanks for that. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Nita Beshear Post author

      Actually Hilary, I didn’t make friends with the fabric, my new quilting friend Edna did. I agree though, she did a beautiful job and the quilt is gorgeous. I hope to be stopping my your blog a little more often now that I’m back in “blog world”. I always love your posts and pictures. Aren’t you at ‘the cabin’? I appreciate you taking time from your beautiful scenery to visit my blog. Thanks.
      Nita

      Reply

Leave a Reply

