5 Uses for Painter’s Tape in the Sewing Room

Today’s sewing room tool came from the garage. Actually, it came from my junk drawer. Wherever you find  it, that blue tape used to keep paint off  woodwork when painting walls is useful in the sewing room. Five ways I’ve found to use it are:

1. To keep templates from slipping when cutting fabric. A couple of pieces of tape on the back of the template will help keep it place with less shifting. Leaving no sticky residue when it’s removed.

2. Marking the sewing line on the machine. If no 1/4″ foot is available, placing the tape on the machine 1/4″ inch from the needle will help keep all seams uniform. This works well when sewing something with a larger, or smaller, seam allowance. There aren’t special foots for every seam size.

3. Remove loose threads. Once the quilt is finished, or even as we’re sewing, threads find their way to the top of the project. If a lint roller isn’t available, balled up tape will easily remove those threads. Works on our clothes before going out too. Because while no outfit is complete without a few threads, we don’t want to look as though we rolled on the thread-covered floor.

4. Marking the measuring line on the template. Most template have several measurements on them, it makes them more useful and we can make items in various sizes. Sometimes, if I’m not careful, I cut my fabric too big or too small because I followed the wrong line. The blue tape used to keep the template from shifting, will also work to help me keep all my cuts uniform. Simply place the straight edge of tape along the appropriate line. No more miss cuts.

5. As a quick thimble. Many quilters have a collection of thimbles. Not me. I don’t like them, and haven’t learned to use them. Still, there are times when hand sewing that a thimble will be helpful. On those days, wrapping my finger with tape will work.

Masking tape can also be used in place of painters tape. However if using the tapes on the templates or sewing machine, remove them after completing a project to ensure no sticky residue remains.

Have you ever used masking, or painting tape in your sewing/crafting projects?

Do you have another use for the tape?

Do you have another quick fix thimble?

This post is part of the 31days of Shopping The House for Sewing Supplies.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in 31 Days, sewing, tips, tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Uses for Painter’s Tape in the Sewing Room

  1. Nita says:

    Nate, thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love the frugality quilts and quilting can encourage.

  2. Josephine says:

    Nita, will you be doing any book signing in the Oklahoma area within the next few weeks? I would love to have a signed copy of your book, Devoted to Quilting. I have a friend who has just started quilting and I think she would enjoy the inspirational messages and tips.

    • Nita says:

      Josephine, I’ll be at the Bean and Berry Saturday evening with other authors. We’re going to be reading from our books, selling and signing them. We will be there from 6-8, I’d love to see you there. You are so sweet to think of your friend.

  3. I’ve taken your tip number 3 a bit farther… in a pinch, when I don’t have a lint roller, I will use painter’s tape to “de-lint” dress pants. Works like a charm!

    • Nita says:

      Hi Might Jerd, yep painter’s tape is a wonderful “lint remover.” Thanks for stopping by and leaving your suggestion.

  4. Nate Leung says:

    Hi Nita,

    I am not a quilt maker myself but this is a very cool site. I’m glad I found you. Very cool how you’re sharing value and monetizing on the back-end. Thanks Nita.

Leave a Reply

