Helpful Hints from Binding In

A tutorial by me was on the agenda for today. However, the project I’d planned to use didn’t come out as expected, so no tutorial. I don’t figure anyone needs directions on how to make a mess. If you do, let me know, I’m an expert at goofs, I can give you some tips.

In the meantime, for Tutorial Thursday, I suffered around the internet and found some I thought you might enjoy trying.

If you have any tutorials you want to share, please let me know. The plan is to post a tutorial every Thursday, and it’s a cinch I won’t have one every week, so I’ll be sharing your brilliant suggestions.

First up on the list is a quilt with a ruffle rather than binding. I first saw a ruffle on a quilt 5 years ago when my little granddaughter was a baby.  I attended a show and my daughter-in-law pointed the quilt out to me. I took pictures; sorry I don’t know where they’re located now, and planned to make a similar quilt. Plans are one thing, actual making is something else. However, I’ve now found directions thanks to Anne Sutton at Bunny Hill Designs  for purposely putting a ruffle on a quilt, here.

Next up are borders.  Many quilters like to put a border on their quilts to frame the piecing. Me? I usually piece to the edge of the quilt. Although, borders are also handy if your quilt is too small. If you’re having trouble with your borders not coming out right, Pigtails and Quilts has you covered, with her easy-to-follow method.

If you need a quilt design, this zig-zag quilt might be what you’re looking for. I love this  quilt, although it looks more like large rick-rack appliqued to me. Whatever you call it, it will be perfect for one of my grandchildren for next Christmas. Maybe you’d like to make one.

Now that you have a quilt, and a border, what about quilting? If you take it to a long-arm quilter, or you have a long-arm machine, no problem. Free motion quilting is good, but some of us aren’t quite as proficient as we want to be, yet. I love the look of straight stitch quilting.  However, since I don’t get too upset over blocks not being exactly square, or seams matching, following the seams lines when quilting leaves a bit to be desired.  This boxed in quilting tutorial from Blue Bird Sews looks like just the thing. If you try it, let me know how you liked it.

Now that you have a tutorial for a quilt, the border, even the quilting, what about binding?  What do we do with our binding fabric while waiting to add it to the quilt? Some of you even have  four or five, or more, quilts ready and waiting to be quilted, what do you do with the binding while you’re waiting?  I can’t imagine not having, at least the fabric, stashed somewhere for when the quilt was ready for it’s binding. For those of us who haven’t been organized in the past, here’s a method for storing several batches of binding until the quilt is ready. It’s from Jaqs Studio. Having the binding ready to go, or at least having a way to save it, may make getting those quilts finished an easier process, or not, who knows?

For a change of pace, here’s a little project for you to try. An ID/Luggage Tag, from Guila at Guila Greer Arts. After all, quilters travel, to visit friends and family, to retreats, quilt outings, and much more. Wouldn’t you like to have your own unique tag on your luggage?

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Devoted to Quilting, friends, fun, Tutorial Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helpful Hints from Binding In

  1. Pingback: Free Motion Quilting – First Attempt « Diannajessie

  2. Pingback: Quilt Finished At Last « Diannajessie

Leave a Reply

