Easy Quilted Project How-tos

It’s tutorial Thursday, and since I still haven’t put together my own tutorial for you, here are some links for tutorials that I found helpful, and a couple of links to free patterns. Enjoy.

I love scrap quilts, they are my favorite, and free patterns that use scraps, well that’s just about perfect. From Daily Craft comes this pattern, from Quilter’s Newsletter.perfect for using scraps:

Free Quilting Pattern

Isn’t it pretty? It was inspired by Cinco de Mayo (the popular Mexican celebration that takes place on the 5th of May). Although, for non scrap collectors, it would be nice in a planned color palette, imagine it with one color. I may have to try this one when I get some of these already-started projects out-of-the-way. If you make it, share with us, with a link.

Once you have a quilt made, you may want to hang it. Jacquie at  Tall Grass Prairie Studio has an easy-to-follow hanging sleeve tutorial.

Bonnie Browning of AQS (American Quilt Society) made a hanging sleeve tutorial video, here.

Since I love mug rugs, and Valentine’s day is coming up, this themed mug rug is a great use of  scraps. I found it on Whip it Up Today  it was a guest post by Judy from Pleasant Home? I’ll try to get my mug rug and hug tutorial up next week. :)

Finally, over at Mauby’s is a square table topper. Angie from  Stitching by Starlight made a cute square table topper tutorial because her table is square and most table toppers or runners are rectangle. Angie used Soul Blossoms fabrics for the center of the topper with Kona white for the background. However, it would be cute with scraps you have on hand, and just think how cute it would be as a set of place-mats. I love place-mats! They wouldn’t even have to match each other, as long as they have some of the same fabrics, and use the same background fabric.

I hope you enjoy cruising around and checking out these tutorials. If you’d like to see a tutorial on a specific item, let me know and I’ll try to find one or ten, or will make my own. What do you think of these? Have you made any of them?

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in adventure, Devoted to Quilting, fun, quilt, sewing, Tutorial Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

