Basting Before Quilting

Do you baste your quilts before quilting them? If you use a long arm quilter or machine probably not. What about for hand quilting, tying, or quilting on your smaller machine?

A couple of weeks back I shared a tutorial on using your home machine for quilting. While it’s a great instructional video on quilting, the three layers must first be held together or you’ll have all kinds of shifting, creating a lopsided quilt. Most of the instructions, or suggestions I’ve seen for basting a quilt involved spreading it out on the floor.

Sounds good, except I don’t have that much floor space. Not to mention, the floor is a loooong way down, and getting up is, let’s just say interesting. Which is why I was so excited to find Sharon Schamber’s tutorial on basting a quilt.

Using two boards, which my son generously shared with me from his stash. I have a stash of fabric, he has a stash of lumber. :) I first tried the method out on a prayer quilt. Rather than basting the quilt, I tied it as I progressed. It was a much better system than I’d been trying to use, with limited success.

Sharon’s website offers a wealth of quilting info and pictures.

So how do you connect the three layers of your quilts, by hand quilting, tying, or machine quilting? Do you baste them first?

I hope you enjoy the tutorials. I apologize for the disjointed posts. Hopefully, everything is on track now. Except for the fact this blog is still evolving. Eventually, I’ll find my rhythm, thanks for hanging in and being patient during the process.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Devoted to Quilting, quilt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

